Hello and welcome to The Compost Bin. I'm Compostwoman and I live with my family in rural Herefordshire. We have nearly four acres of garden and woodland, all managed organically and to Permaculture principles, which we share with Chickens, Cats and assorted wildlife. We also grow a lot of our own food, run courses in all sorts of things and make a lot of compost!

I am a Master Composter and have spent more than a decade as a volunteer Community Compost adviser with Garden Organic and my local Council.
I'm a self employed Environmental Educator so I run workshops and events where I talk about compost, veg growing, chicken keeping, cooking, preserving and sustainable living. I also run crafts workshops and Forest School/outdoor play sessions in our wood.

We try to live a more self sufficient lifestyle here, as best we can, while still having a comfortable life and lots of fun.

To learn more about us click on the About Compostwoman tab and remember to click on the photos to make them full size!

Friday 1 January 2021

Happy 2021

Happy New Year everyone!

So, another lockdown. 

We have Compostgirl back here from Uni, she was sent home at the start of December, and it looks like she will be here again for some time.

It's good to have her safe at home, away from the risk of catching Covid, but it's so very sad for all young people, who should be going through the excitement of being independent adults, away from home, hopefully enjoying themselves, and to suddenly be back with their parents, doing their Uni courses online.

Hopefully 2021 will be better, once we have a vaccinated population.