Hello and welcome to The Compost Bin. I'm Compostwoman and I live with my family in rural Herefordshire. We have nearly four acres of garden and woodland, all managed organically and to Permaculture principles, which we share with Chickens, Cats and assorted wildlife. We also grow a lot of our own food, run courses in all sorts of things and make a lot of compost!

I am a Master Composter and have spent more than a decade as a volunteer Community Compost adviser with Garden Organic and my local Council.
I'm a self employed Environmental Educator so I run workshops and events where I talk about compost, veg growing, chicken keeping, cooking, preserving and sustainable living. I also run crafts workshops and Forest School/outdoor play sessions in our wood.

We try to live a more self sufficient lifestyle here, as best we can, while still having a comfortable life and lots of fun.

To learn more about us click on the About Compostwoman tab and remember to click on the photos to make them full size!

Thursday 27 August 2015

Birthday celebrations and a visit to my old home.

It was my brother's birthday on the 23 August, so today we went over to where he lives and went out for a meal.

Happy Birthday J!

After an excellent lunch in a pub in our childhood village of Kempsey, nr Worcester, we drove up to Kempsey Common, where my family lived from 1969 - 1996

This was the view I had from my bedroom window, looking out over the Malvern Hills.

And this is the house I lived in from the age of 6 until I was 16. A lot of memories were released from both my brother and I, happy and sad ones but all good to feel.

I showed Compostgirl the old hollow oak tree where I used to hide and read all day and dream.
A good day out

No comments:

Post a Comment

Hello! Thank you for reading my blog and for commenting. I try to reply as quickly as I can and I really appreciate your interest in my life and doings here in The Compost Bin.