Hello and welcome to The Compost Bin. I'm Compostwoman and I live with my family in rural Herefordshire. We have nearly four acres of garden and woodland, all managed organically and to Permaculture principles, which we share with Chickens, Cats and assorted wildlife. We also grow a lot of our own food, run courses in all sorts of things and make a lot of compost!

I am a Master Composter and have spent more than a decade as a volunteer Community Compost adviser with Garden Organic and my local Council.
I'm a self employed Environmental Educator so I run workshops and events where I talk about compost, veg growing, chicken keeping, cooking, preserving and sustainable living. I also run crafts workshops and Forest School/outdoor play sessions in our wood.

We try to live a more self sufficient lifestyle here, as best we can, while still having a comfortable life and lots of fun.

To learn more about us click on the About Compostwoman tab and remember to click on the photos to make them full size!

Sunday 9 March 2008

Wild weather.....

In view of the weather warnings for our area from the Met Office today for the next few days.....I have weighted down the garden polytunnels, crop covers, geotextile etc...and the empty Dalek compost bin, and put away anything which might blow away into the lean to...

and we have got the generator ready and filled up the oil lamp, checked we have some water stored up as we are on a borehole powered by electricity which the generator can't manage to pump, and just generally prepared for the worst. BUT we will hope for the best!!

Its battern down the hatches time I guess!! Hope everything stays safe, and that you who are reading this blog are all ok !!

1 comment:

  1. Amazing that we managed a trip out to the seaside yesterday on the motorbike. We hit rain on the way home. Windy here and watching the skies.


Hello! Thank you for reading my blog and for commenting. I try to reply as quickly as I can and I really appreciate your interest in my life and doings here in The Compost Bin.